Ga direct naar productinformatie
1 van 1

Deborah Feldman

Unorthodox

Unorthodox

Normale prijs €18,95 EUR
Normale prijs Aanbiedingsprijs €18,95 EUR
Aanbieding Uitverkocht
Inclusief btw. Verzendkosten worden berekend bij de checkout.
Conditie

Now a Netflix original series! Unorthodox is the Bestselling memoir of a young Jewish womans escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Alis Infidel and Carolyn Jessops Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author. As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborahs desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path-for herself and her son-to happiness and freedom. Remarkable and fascinating, this sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you wont be able to put down.

Genre

Literature & Fiction

Bindwijze

Paperback

Druk

Uitgever

Afmetingen

Shipping & Returns

Alle details bekijken